General tab

To create a calendar, click on Plus button located at the top right corner of the screen.

Don’t see the Plus button? It means you are not granted the required permission Calendar creation. Please refer to your Jira administrator to obtain one.

 

Once you clicked the Plus button, a calendar configuration dialog will be open. On General tab, provide the calendar's name and description (optional).

 

The General tab can be edited only by a calendar owner and the administrators, in Calendar Management.

Please note: When creating a calendar, a user automatically becomes its owner. The Owner field is editable, once a calendar is saved.

The calendar owner can set a new owner for the saved calendar. In addition, the calendar owner can delete the calendar by clicking Delete calendar button, on General tab.

 

If needed, as a calendar owner, you can set the calendar users.

By default, once a calendar is created, it displays users that are taken from existing calendar events. Calendar owner can set defined calendar users. Meaning, the defined users will be shown, on the left panel, even though there are might be no events assigned to them for a given calendar period.

Should you require to see the unassigned events, please make sure to add "Unassigned" to the list of defined users.

Please note that the total user time calculation for events with multiple users will include only the time of users who are defined as calendar users.

 

Calendar permissions

In addition to the above, as a calendar owner, you can define the calendar permissions.

 

  • The Calendar Visibility permission defines who can access a calendar. Public calendars are accessible by all Jira users. Private calendars are accessible either only by a calendar owner or by the users/groups that calendar visibility permission is granted.

  • The Calendar Editing permission defines who can add, edit and delete the calendar's configuration along with its configured event sources. When the permission is set to "Private", only a calendar owner and the users/groups that calendar editing permission is granted can change the calendar's configuration. This restriction affects only the calendar's configuration and other users who have access to the calendar still can create and edit event entries. When the permission is set to "Public", all Jira users can edit the current calendar's configuration, including configured event sources. 

  • The Events Editing permission defines who can add, edit and delete the events. When the permission is set to "Private", only a calendar owner and the users/groups that events editing permission is granted to can manage the events. When the permission is set to "Public", all Jira users that have access to a calendar can add, edit and delete its events.

The Calendar Editing and Events Editing permissions work together. Note that you can restrict the event editing only if you restrict the calendar editing.

  • Did you know you can restrict the event editing permission even further? Simply mark the checkbox next to the permission so a user who is not a calendar owner can manage only own events. Meaning, a user who is not the event reporter will not be able to edit the event unless he is the calendar owner.

Please note that "Jira dates" event management is affected by defined Jira permissions. For instance, the event reporter will not be able to edit his own event if he doesn't have the "Edit Issues" permission.
In contrast, a user who is not the event reporter will still be able to edit Jira issues, outside the calendar, assuming he has the required Jira permissions.